Christmas Foody Ideas #2 Easy Peasy Fruit Loaves

by hettychatters

This recipe is pretty much 3 easy steps, requires no messing about, and they are super duper tasty, plus look very sweet in their little containers, and will look even better in my Christmas hampers.

DSC00579

I saw the postman drive down the drive way and eagerly collected my parcel:

DSC00561Yes more Pipii treats!

DSC00562

I really did amp up the Christmas atmosphere at this point, I got a bit excited switching on an Ella Fitzgerald treasure trove of warming Christmas songs.

Okay okay enough distractions, recipe!

400ml water
500g Caster sugar
350g mixed fruit, I went for a a mixed bag with some peel in for that little bit of zingy taste, with some dried berries mixed in for color and size difference
50g butter
450g plain flour
1tsp mixed spice
2tsp cinnamon
1tsp nutmeg
1tsp allspice – as much/little spice as you like really, the original recipe I used I felt was just not enough! It was seriously lacking Christmassy punchy warm spices.
1tsp baking powder

Method

In a big pan over a medium heat but your fruit, butter, sugar and water, mix until all dissolved/melted then take off the heat. Next, sieve in your flour, spices and baking powder, combine, then spoon into your prepared cases of choice. It is that simple, a one pan wonder if you like.  Bake at 180 degrees C for about 25 mins for small, 30 mins for medium and 35 for large, just test them, they should be shiny and golden on top, and be clean when a skewer is inserted. Sprinkle over some brown sugar once they are out the oven for a finishing touch.

christmas blogging

I’m going to wrap them in cellophane and tie with a little ribbon for my hampers. Until then, they are going into the freezer, they freeze like a dream.

Enjoy!

