Roasted Stuffed Sweet Peppers

by hettychatters

I was buzzing around the kitchen thinking of something super delicious to make for dinner earlier, and it sort of grew into this photo worthy, in my humble opinion, little treat (still on the terrible camera, ‘big’ camera is gravely ill, I fear the worst!).

Give me a moment whilst I remember what was in them…

…ahh:

1 long sweet red pepper, halved
About 10 chestnuts, x’s cut in the top, roasted for about 20 mins until soft, and peeled and chopped
A handful of pumpkin seeds
Half a yellow pepper diced
Half a red onion diced
A handful of mushrooms diced
A teaspoon of honey
Parmesan, a handful grated
Olive oil
Basil leaves and stalks chopped, to taste
Salt and Pepper to taste

Throw all the prepared filling ingredients into a saucepan with olive oil, and gently cook until all have softened, season to taste, add the honey and Parmesan.  Now would be the time to add some cream cheese or something if you wanted it to be a more stodgy bound together mix, but I like it like this. Tip into each pepper half, drizzle liberally with olive oil, top again with more Parmesan and bake on a tray for about 15 minutes at 180 degrees C.

Would make a great starter or side dish, I just ate it with a quick salad. Warm, nutty and sweet, to me, it really tastes super homely and wholesome.

